h1

Windows 7 + memory upgrade

2009-08-25

Didn’t change a thing. Same issues.

Here’s another link about the problems people are having.

But I’m not complaining about the performance increase in Windows XP Pro 32-bit. Using the /3GB switch in boot.ini enables XP to allocate up to 3 GB of memory to an application, instead of its default behavior of splitting the entire RAM between system and applications 50/50. Since my motherboard doesn’t support running memory at 1066 MHz, I’ve been forced to leave my clock settings alone. It seems as though I can tweak my timings to 4-4-4-12 if I increase the voltage to at least 2.0V, but I’d rather have stability at 1.8V running with 5-5-5-15 timings. With a new motherboard, I could take advantage of syncing the memory to the processor at 1066 MHz, but I’ll probably hold off and spend money on a whole new setup since this one performs decently.

One thing I hate is blue screens of death… I’ve gotten a few in the process of tweaking my settings… all of them a stop 0x50 error: PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA. I’ve also upgraded my BIOS and made sure my chipset drivers are up-to-date.

Leave a Reply

